Yoga Ladies(and Gents) YOGA….

Beginner Yoga

YOGA.  I use to question what health affects yoga would have for me. All it seemed like was a bunch of people in skimpy clothing bending their bodies in overtly sexual or gymnast positions simply stretching. It wasn’t until I actually got the opportunity to attend Yoga classes that I realized there was so much more to it than “stretching“.

I longed to attend a class and kept making mental notes to myself to go find a local gym and see how much they would cost. Luckily for me, however, my job offers free yoga classes from a qualified instructor twice a week. So I went out and bought all these nice yoga pants and shirts, excited to attend my first class on that following Wednesday………….

Boy was I in for a surprise! Not only did I stretch parts of my body that I had no idea still existed since my cheerleading days, I also found myself panting and sweating as if I were on the treadmill. This is because Yoga offers a full body workout that not only improves flexibility, also bone alignment, and overall strength.

Depending on the style of yoga you take part in, you can get ether an aerobic workout(the same as spending time on a treadmill or walking/running outside) or a restorative workout(relieving of pain and muscle stiffness).

I encourage you all if you can to implement yoga a couple of times a day into your workout routines, it is WELL WORTH IT!

Another thing that I love about yoga is it can be used to train your mind and spirit to calm. Breathing control and positive thinking mantras are also infused into the yoga routine in the class I attend. Great for a stressful workday. Once you have attended class long enough you can practice wherever you are because your body will start to remember how to properly do each pose. What’s better than an equipment free anytime/any place workout!

 

Leave a comment